Learn More About a Career
Contact Library Staff
The Library is currently serving students by phone, email and online chat. The building is closed until the college re-opens.
Online Chat: www.lee.edu/library
Find articles about a career
Contains articles from magazines, newspapers and reference sources. Includes articles on careers.
Vocational & Career Collection
Contains articles from trade and industry journals. These articles are meant for readers who are working in a particular career or who want to know about a particular industry.
DIEGO RIVERA: DETROIT. - Large detail of Diego Rivera's mural, depicting the American automobile industry at The Detroit Institute of Arts, 1932-1933. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. https://quest.eb.com/search/140_1692567/1/140_1692567/cite. Accessed 17 Mar 2020.
Job Requirements & Working Conditions
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Enter your desired job title into the search box to access information on educational and experience requirements, salary, usual working conditions, and job outlook. This is a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics website.
Targeted to students, this US Bureau of Labor Statistics site includes descriptions of a variety of careers.
Lee College Career Coach
Search for job information by industry, specifically within the Houston-Beaumont area.
My Job, My Future
From the US Department of Labor. Use this site to research job duties, find average wages, and see hiring projections.
Offers information to help you choose a career, as well as tools to get started. From the U.S. Department of Labor.
Find books about careers
Try searching the library catalog using some of the following search terms, or click directly on one of the links below:
If you already have an idea which field you're interested in, string together search terms including your career with "Vocational guidance: like this:
To limit your search to ONLY e-books, change the format field on the search page to "E-books." It looks like this:
Choosing a career
What criteria should you use to decide on a career?
- Working conditions: do they match the kind of life you want to live?
- What are the hours?
- How long are the workweeks?
- Will you get benefits or time off?
- What are the physical requirements of the job?
- What is the usual pay?
- How stressful will it be?
- How stable is the industry? Is it expected to expand or contract in the future?
- Are there jobs available in your community, or will you have to move?
- What type of education is required?
- What kind of tasks can you expect to spend your day doing?
Career Aptitude Tests
Lee College Career Coach
Suggests potential careers, allows you to research job prospects in specific fields and to learn about job conditions in the field of your choice.
This online tool allows you to take quizzes to match your skills, learning styles and personal preferences to potential careers.
Learn about careers first-hand
Finding a Job
Job Listing Sites
In addition to the job search sites listed below, try to identify:
- Job banks that are specific to your industry
- Human Resources webpages of reputable companies in your industry
This site is where federal agencies list job openings.
Work in Texas
Maintained by the Texas Workforce Commission, this site allows employers to post positions and job seekers to post resumes and apply for jobs.
Aggregates job listings from other job search websites. Requires registration.
Job listings by job title, location, salary, etc. Allows job seekers to upload a resume and apply through the website.
Search jobs in a specific area ; upload your resume for employers to view.
Lee College Job Search Resources
Texas Labor Market Projections
Use to generate reports on expected job growth by occupation or industry in the State of Texas.
Industries at a Glance
From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides information on the current state of over 100 industries in the US, including employment rates, workplace trends, and workforce statistics.
Employment Projections: EP Data Tables
Search statistics about U.S. labor, including the fasting growing and shrinking occupations, industries with the fastest wage growth, employment rates by industry, etc.
MLA Citation Help
The Little Brown Handbook, MLA Update Edition
Call Number: (REF) PE 1112 .F64 2016
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB 2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Online Citation Generators
MS Word: After you open your Word document, use the "References" tab to access their citation builder. Includes MLA, APA, and Chicago, among others.
Lee College Writing Center
The Lee College Writing Center is still open and ready to assist students with ANY type of academic writing. All assistance will be provided by phone or via Internet until the campus re-opens.
Contact a tutor:
Printable Citation Guides
The following handouts were created by the Lee College Writing Center.