Use the following call numbers to browse for kinesiology books in the library collection.
Other relevant sections
The Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement
The Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement, Second Edition, is now fully updated with information and enhanced learning aids that increase the readability and value of the text. Like its predecessor, the new edition provides a balanced introduction to each of the major biophysical subdisciplines of kinesiology: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, motor control, and sport and exercise psychology. This comprehensive book presents an integrated study of human movement and applies this knowledge to human performance and physical activity across the lifespan. The Biophysical Foundations of Human Movement, Second Edition, considers basic methods and concepts, typical research questions, key historical developments, professional training and organizations, and suggestions for further reading within each subdiscipline. The authors offer a unique perspective on the subdisciplines by exploring not only the basic science but also the changes in human movement and movement potential that occur throughout the lifespan as well in response to training, practice, and other lifestyle factors. The second edition includes these new features: -A completely rewritten and reorganized section on the mechanical bases of human movement -A significantly expanded chapter on integrative perspectives with more examples of the interdisciplinary research at the forefront of the field -Listings of the latest Web-based resources that focus on topics relevant to human movement studies -Clear learning objectives and brief summaries in each chapter The book provides students with an overview of the field and the many career options available to them. It highlights key organizations, prominent individuals, and studies from around the world that have contributed to our understanding of human movement. The book also contains numerous learning aids (including suggested readings, extensive illustrations, a detailed index, and a complete glossary) that improve comprehension and make review of the material easier.
Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology
A classic reborn for its Golden Anniversary. Now celebrating its 50 years in print, this text has held onto the foundation of its great success, while also being re-invented for today's audience. The focus of this text remains the practical instruction of functional anatomy in order to quickly, and convincingly, guide readers to its use in professional performance. This text is filled with modern applications that will show your students the relevance of foundational material to their future careers. An all-new author team of expert instructors Peggy Houglum and Dolores Bertoti, a brand-new, full-color design, and new learning and teaching resources online at DavisPlus all make the field's gold standard more valuable than ever as it prepares readers to apply theory to clinical practice.
The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise
As anyone who takes up a new sport quickly discovers, even basic athletic moves require high levels of coordination and control. Whether dribbling a basketball or hitting a backhand, limbs must be synchronized and bodies balanced, all with precise timing. But no matter how diligently we watch the pros or practice ourselves, the body's inner workings remain invisible. The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise reveals the microworld of the human body in motion, from the motor proteins that produce force, to the signaling molecules that activate muscles, to the enzymes that extract energy from nutrients. Christopher Gillen describes how biomolecules such as myosin, collagen, hemoglobin, and creatine kinase power our athletic movements. During exercise, these molecules dynamically morph into different shapes, causing muscles, tendons, blood, and other tissues to perform their vital functions. Gillen explores a wide array of topics, from how genetic testing may soon help athletes train more effectively, to how physiological differences between women and men influence nutrition. The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise tackles questions athletes routinely ask. What should we ingest before and during a race? How does a hard workout trigger changes in our muscles? Why does exercise make us feel good? Athletes need not become biologists to race in a triathlon or carve turns on a snowboard. But Gillen, who has run ten ultramarathons, points out that athletes wishing to improve their performance will profit from a deeper understanding of the body's molecular mechanisms.
Introduction to Kinesiology
Introduction to Kinesiology, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive, reader-friendly overview of kinesiology, laying a solid foundation for future learning and for working as a professional in any field relating to physical activity. This new edition is significantly updated and revamped, featuring these additions: -Expanded information and advice on careers relating to the field of kinesiology, including short- and long-term employment opportunities, allowing students to benefit from an inclusive and accurate job outlook early in their college careers -New schematics and visual effects to help students better understand the content, including more relevant photos to illustrate text points and new artwork to help clarify important conceptual connections -New profiles featuring significant scholars in the field -New and improved sidebars, interactive items, and key points to engage students more deeply and to acquaint them with relevant issues and problems Introduction to Kinesiology, Second Edition, contains updated research, statistics, and discussion focusing on practical applications in the field and offering advice about each profession in kinesiology. These features will help students identify and work toward attaining their career goals. The text uses a visually appealing pedagogical approach, including key points and interactive items as well as opening scenarios of real-world dilemmas encountered by professionals in the field, objectives, summaries, key terms, and a glossary. The new edition reinforces readers' learning through both text and graphic features. Part I, Experiencing Physical Activity, provides an extensively rewritten introduction to the field of kinesiology and goes into greater detail on exercise and skilled movement. It also delves into physical activity participation patterns, updated information on the relevance of physical activity to daily living, and how various professionals in the field incorporate physical activity into their educational, developmental, and treatment programs. Part II, Scholarly Study of Physical Activity, with chapters on subdisciplines, has been reorganized and simplified, making those topics easier to comprehend. It includes greater coverage of physical education as a career pursuit and features chapters from several new collaborators, adding to the richness of the text's perspective and insight. Part III, Practicing a Profession in Physical Activity, includes a new chapter on careers in coaching and sport instruction and an updated chapter on therapeutic exercise, with information on careers in physical and occupational therapy. This new edition improves on the already-solid foundation of learning laid in the first edition. Its superior content and reasonable price make this text an ideal choice for undergraduate kinesiology courses.
Physics of the Human Body
Richard P. McCall's fascinating book explains how basic concepts of physics apply to the fundamental activities and responses of the human body, a veritable physics laboratory. Blood pumping through our veins is a vital example of Poiseuille flow; the act of running requires friction to propel the runner forward; and the quality of our eyesight demonstrates how properties of light enable us to correct near- and far-sightedness. Each chapter discusses a fundamental physics concept and relates it to the anatomy and physiology of applicable parts of the body. Topics include motion, fluids and pressure, temperature and heat, speech and hearing, electrical behaviors, optics, biological effects of radiation, and drug concentrations. Clear and compelling, with a limited amount of math, McCall's descriptions allow readers of all levels to appreciate the physics of the human physique. Physics of the Human Body will help curious high school students, undergraduates with medical aspirations, and practicing medical professionals understand more about the underlying physics principles of the human body.
