ARTS - Herzberg: Local Art Venues

Stages exhibitions from visiting and permanent collections. Houston's largest art museum.

Small contemporary art museum ; exhibitions of local, national and international artists. Curators focus on art that explores issues in social justice and civil discourse.

Hosts contemporary art exhibitions, performances, and events.

Nonprofit arts organization that showcases craft using materials such as ceramics, fiber, glass, metal, wood and recycled materials. Includes exhibitions, classes and a resident artist program.

Museum dedicated to the "history, art and technology of printing." Owns a permanent collection, stages exhibitions, hosts classes on printing and printmaking.

Contemporary art exhibitions. Free admission.

Located on the University of Houston campus, the Blaffer Gallery hosts contemporary art exhibitions, as well as occasional exhibitions of UH art students. Free admissions.

Stages exhibitions and owns a permanent collection. There is a strong Surrealist collection, as well as entire buildings dedicated to Cy Twombly, Dan Flavin, a Byzantine fresco, the Rothko Chapel, and a drawings collection.

Includes rotating art exhibitions, along with community-building work in Houston's historic Third Ward.

Non-collecting museum focusing on contemporary artists.

Includes workspaces for over 100 artists ; hosts periodic open studios and sales.

Home of 77 art studios; hosts periodic Open Studio events and sales.

There are several fine art galleries clustered together near Colquitt and Lake Streets in Houston.

Includes a gallery at 110 W. Texas Avenue in Baytown.

Former private home transformed into a folk art monument to the orange.

Former private home decorated with over 50,000 beer cans.

Museum showcasing some fine examples of Houston's many art cars.

Annual parade of Art Cars, usually held in late spring.

Huge photography and new media biennial that takes place at exhibition spaces scattered across the Greater Houston area.

MDS hosts an annual art crawl where artists open their studios to the public and sell their work.

Located in an alley off of 124 Texas Ave., Umbrella Alley is a public art project created by the Lee College Art Department.

Public art sponsored by the City of Baytown.

The University of Houston system has a large number of public art pieces throughout its campuses. They are available for viewing through guided tours and events as well as personal trips to the campuses.

Use this map to locate public art owned by the City of Houston.

Public Park full of structures covered in mosaics.