Sociology Research Sources - SOCI - Lane Worley

Find Background Information on Your Topic

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains a set of online reference books to provide a general overview of your topic. A good way to gather search terms before you start looking for articles.
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from the Encyclopedia Britannica, Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus, and magazines and periodicals.

World of sociology by Joseph M. Palmisano, ed.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2002
Guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, developments and pioneers related to the field of sociology.
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner, Ed.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2006
Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice by Sherwood Thompson, ed.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Entries describe major issues on diversity and social justice themes.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2007
This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.

Downloadable instructions for accessing databases

LC Database Instructions
General instructions for how to access the Lee College Library databases for research.

Search terms

See the Social Classes tab of this LibGuide for suggested search terms to find relevant books and articles.

Find Articles from Scholarly Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

To use these resources OFF CAMPUS, enter your MyLC login and password when prompted for a login.

When searching for articles, check the "Full Text" option before searching to limit your search to articles you can read right now. Also consider:

Does it matter WHEN your articles were published? If so, limit the publication dates.
Do you need general information (choose consumer sources) or scholarly information / research studies (limit to scholarly articles)?

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains reference articles, news articles and opinion pieces on current social issues.
Academic Onefile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine & newspaper articles from a variety of disciplines.

Find e-books

EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of print books in a wide variety of subjects, all available to read online and some available to download to your computer or mobile device.
eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook collection covering the social sciences (including sociology), sciences and more.

Use the Library Catalog to find e-books related your research topic. To limit the catalog search to access only e-books, follow these steps:

1. Go to the Library Catalog:

2. Enter your search terms in the search fields.

3. Choose "E-book" as the format.

4. Click "Go"

SOCI - Lane Worley: Sociology Research Sources

Find Background Information on Your Topic

Downloadable instructions for accessing databases

Search terms

Find Articles from Scholarly Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

Find e-books