Skip to main content Lee College Library

Drafting & Computer-Aided Design: Electrical Drafting

Electrical Drafting

OneSearch





Search Tip

Searching for a phrase?

Putting it in quotation marks tells the search that you want that exact phrase, not just any of the words contained within it.

Ex: "electrical code"  "mechanical drawing"

Electronic Books

Electronic books are available via the internet anywhere, anytime.  Click on the title to access the full text of each book.

Books in the Library

All of these books are available for checkout in the Lee College Library.  Click on the book's title for additional information or use the call number to find the book on the shelves.

Not finding what you need?  Follow these subject search links to find additional resources or search the Lee College Library catalog.

Selected Videos from Films on Demand

Explore these selected videos from Films on Demand:

Library Databases

TIP: All of these databases are automatically included in OneSearch.  To see results from a specific database, select "Databases Searched" on the bottom in the left column and select the databases.

Call Numbers

Interested in browsing the library's collection?  These areas can help you get started:

  • NA2695-2793 - Architectural Design and Drawing
  • NA2835-4050 - Architectural Details, Etc.
  • T1-995 - Technology
  • TA630-695 - Structural Engineering
  • TH5011-7975 - Construction by Phase of Work/Environmental Engineering
  • TK300's - Architectural Drawing
  • TK400's - Electronic Drafting
  • TK7800-8360 - Electronics

Online Citation Guides

MLA Style

Instrumentation Drafting

OneSearch





Library Databases

TIP: All of these databases are automatically included in OneSearch.  To see results from a specific database, select "Databases Searched" on the bottom in the left column and select the databases.

Books in the Library

All of these books are available for checkout in the Lee College Library.  Click on the book's title for additional information or use the call number to find the book on the shelves.

Not finding what you need?  Use the search terms below to find additional resources at the Lee College Library catalog.

  • Instrumentation 
  • 3D modeling AutoCAD
  • AutoCAD

Process Flow Diagram (PDF)

Process flow diagrams (PFDs) are used in chemical and process engineering. These diagrams show the flow of chemicals and the equipment involved in the process. Generally, a Process Flow Diagram shows only the major equipment and doesn't show details. PFDs are used for visitor information and new employee training.

Piping & Instrument Diagram (P&ID)

A Piping and Instrument Drawing (P&ID) includes more details than a PFD. It includes major and minor flows, control loops and instrumentation. These diagrams are also called flowsheets. P&IDs are used by process technicians and instrument and electrical, mechanical, safety, and engineering personnel.

Online Citation Guides

MLA Style

Pipe Drafting

Assignment

Research, for pipes and components, the wide variety of materials used, for what purposes each said material is used, what is most commonly chosen, and what makes this material appropriate for such use.  Write a technical report covering your topic of 1500 words or more.  Please double space and use the MLA ( Modern Language Association) system for documenting your sources. 

OneSearch





Library Databases

TIP: All of these databases are automatically included in OneSearch.  To see results from a specific database, select "Databases Searched" on the bottom in the left column and select the databases.

Books in the Library

All of these books are available for checkout in the Lee College Library.  Click on the book's title for additional information or use the call number to find the book on the shelves.

Not finding what you need?  Use the search terms below to find additional resources at the Lee College Library catalog.

  • Pipe Drafting
  • Piping
  • 3D modeling AutoCAD
  • AutoCAD
  • Pipe Materials

Websites

Online Citation Guides

MLA Style

Technical Reports vs. Research Writing

A Research Paper takes all of the information and then does something relevant and original with it. A Report finds all the relevant material written or known about an issue and reports it back.

The above is a good explanation of the difference between the two.  While they both require extensive research and have some of the same requirements for citing sources of information, the formatting for a research paper is pretty much the same regardless of what the research paper is about.  This is not true of a technical report.  The formatting style of a technical report can vary widely.