LibGuides: MATH 1332: Home

Mathematics Research

Quick Links

Individual Databases

Academic Onefile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine & newspaper articles from a variety of disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles and books using Google's famous search engine.

Selected Resources

The Lee College library catalog contains lots of general books about math and mathematicians. Some books are listed below. Click here to search the catalog directly for additional results.

Mathematics call number range

QA1-145: Mathematics (General). Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic

QA8: Mathematics - Philosophy
QA9-10: Mathematical logic
QA11-20: Mathematics - Study and teaching
QA21-30: Mathematics - History
QA75.5-76.95: Computer science
QA95: Mathematical recreations

A Strange Wilderness
Call Number: QA 21 .A29 2011
I Died for Beauty
Call Number: QA 29 .W75 S56 2013
The Genius of Euler
Call Number: QA 29 .E8 G46 2007
The Man of Numbers
Call Number: QA 29 .F5 D48 2011
Perfect Rigor
Call Number: QA 29 .P6727 G47 2009
The Art of Game Design
Call Number: QA 76.76 .C672 S34 2008

Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Biographical essays or comments on the women mathematicians profiled on this site, as well as additional resources about women in mathematics.
Links to Websites on the History of Mathematics
Web resources on the history of mathematics.
Mathematicians in Richard S. Westfall's Archives
Richard Westfall's archive contains concise biographical details of more than 640 members of the Scientific Community of the 16th and 17th Centuries. The mathematicians who have biographies in our archive are listed below.

Online Citation Guides

MLA Style

MLA Works Cited Page--From the Lee College Library
MLA In-text Citations--From the Lee College Library
Purdue OWL – The go-to website for all your MLA formatting needs
Scottsdale Community College – A helpful guide to both the 6th and 7th editions of the MLA Handbook

Style Guides

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .G53 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 7th ed.
The Little Brown Handbook, MLA Update Edition
Call Number: (REF) PE 1112 .F64 2016

Online Citation Generators

Citation Machine
Creates citations in APA, MLA and Chicago styles.
EasyBib
Creates citations in APA, MLA and Chicago styles.
KnightCite
Citation generator from Calvin College.
My Bib Citation Generator
Generates citations in MLA, APA, Chicago styles, among others.

MS Word: After you open your Word document, use the "References" tab to access their citation builder. Includes MLA, APA, and Chicago, among others.

How to set up your paper in MLA Format
Video demonstration of how to set up your paper in MLA style from the LC Writing Center.
How to set up your paper in APA Format
Video demonstration of how to set up your paper in APA style, created by the LC Writing Center.

Online Citation Help

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab): Research and citation resources
Includes explanations and examples of research practices and citation styles in both MLA and APA formats.
APA Style
Maintained by the American Psychological Association, this website provides brief explanations to common questions about APA style.
MLA Style Center
Maintained by the Modern Language Association, this site answers some common questions about MLA style.
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Explains how to format your work in Chicago Style, 17th ed.

Avoid Plagiarism

Lee College Writing Center

Writing Center tutors can help you with any writing assignment for any class from the time you receive the assignment instructions until you turn it in, including:

Brainstorming ideas
MLA / APA formats
Grammar and paragraph unity
Thesis statements
Second set of eyes before turning in

Contact a tutor:

Phone: 281-425-6534
Email: w conline@lee.edu
Schedule a web appointment: https://lee.mywconline.com/

Printable Citation Guides

All handouts in this section were created by the Lee College Writing Center.

MLA format:

Tips on Using MLA Style -- Updated 2020
Briefly describes MLA documentation procedures, including in-text citations and Works Cited entries.
MLA Format -- Example
Provides a sample paper formatted in MLA style (does not include Works Cited page.)
MLA Setup in Word 2019
Use this guide for step-by-step instructions to format a MS Word document in MLA style.
Setting Up a Work/Works Cited Page - MLA Format
Step by step instructions for to create a Works Cited page in MS Word, with screenshots.

APA format:

General APA Guidelines -- 7th edition
Overview of APA style for students.
APA Tips -- 7th edition
Brief explanations of how to use quotations and citations in APA style papers, as well as examples of how to cite various formats of works in your References.
Sample Title Page, Abstract and References in APA style
This example shows how to format your title page, abstract and references in APA style.