This webpage collects resources about Baytown history that are available at Sterling Municipal Library. Includes scanned documents from their Vertical File and scanned high school yearbooks.
Held and maintained by the University of Texas, this set of archives includes over 5,000 documents relating to Texas from 1717 up to 1836, while the area was under Spanish and then Mexican governance. This includes the area that is now Baytown. While the original documents are mostly in Spanish, many of them have been translated into English and are available through the website.
This regional history depository is operated under the auspices of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. It includes materials from Chambers County in its holdings.
This resource tells you which libraries own items related to Baytown and Chambers County history. It does NOT provide direct access to documents. You will have to go to the digital collections website of each library (digitized items), or to the library itself (physical items) to access the materials.
Lee College holds 3 main sets of oral histories relating to Baytown's history, including the early days of the city and interviews with area veterans. Accessed through the Portal to Texas History.
Print Resources
To search for items on Baytown history in the Lee College (or any other) library catalog, try the following search terms:
This book, written by a Lee College alum, explores the history of race relations along the Texas Gulf Coast. It includes sections that are specifically about Baytown.
This database allows you to look up Baytown Sun articles by subject, people's names, place names, events, etc. Once you've found the date and page number of the newspaper you need, use the Baytown Sun database or microfilm to read the article.
This online encyclopedia of Texas history is hosted by the Texas State Historical Association. It includes scholarly articles by historians on topics such as the history of Goose Creek, Pelly and Baytown, important figures in Baytown's history such as Ross S. Sterling, William Scott and Nathaniel Lynch, and others.
Allows users to search for historical markers, cemeteries, courthouses and landmarks in the Baytown area. Provides locations and the texts of the markers.
Census records about individuals are sealed for 72 years from the time of the census. This page from the National Archives Dept. links to several sites that provide transcribed census data of individuals.
Scholarly articles on the history of Texas and the Southwest, including the Harris and Chambers County areas. Print copies are available in Bound Periodicals ; also available through the Texas Reference Center and JSTOR databases.
This link opens in a new window
The Gulf by 
Historic Native Peoples of Texas by 
History of Baytown by 
