Databases - INTC 1443 - Tunstall - LibGuides at Lee College

Off campus access

You can use the databases from home! Click on the database link and when prompted enter your username and password.

What is a database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your instructors.

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Additional Resources

Subject Specific Databases

eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central makes it easy to manage discovery, selection, acquisition, administration, and reporting all in one place – and to give students, faculty and researchers seamless and immediate access to the ebooks they need.

An all-in-one ebook platform for research, teaching and learning…and simpler administration for libraries.
The research process is already complex, even without the burden of switching between platforms. That’s why libraries turn to Ebook Central for their ebook needs. Ebook Central brings content from virtually every publisher into one unified experience so students and faculty can quickly learn the platform and easily discover and use the ebook content they need.

Simple administration makes Ebook Central ideal for librarians, too. Its easy-to-use administrative module helps libraries manage their entire acquisition program and gather actionable data to make better decisions that meet student, faculty and budget needs.
SciTech Collection Premium This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Science (Gale) This link opens in a new window
An engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.

Ask a Lee Librarian

General database instructions

www.lee.edu/library
Choose the “Databases” tab
From the pull-down menu, choose the name of the database you would like to search.
Click “Go.”
IF YOU ARE OFF CAMPUS, you will be asked to enter a login and password. This is your MYLC login and password.
Your selected database will open.
Make sure you are on the “Advanced Search” page. Ebsco databases default to this search ; Lexis Nexis (aka Nexis Uni) does not, and you have to click “Advanced.”
Using your search terms, enter terms into the search fields…but don’t click Search yet!!
Below the search fields, there is a section that you can fill out to refine your search:
- Click “Full text” – this will ensure that you can read the articles immediately.
- Enter dates in the field that allows you to filter out articles that are too old (or new, of you’re doing historical research).
- Choose among “Publication types” or “Content types,” etc. – these boxes are allowing you limit your search to certain formats (journal articles, law articles, reviews, magazine articles, etc.). You will choose based on which types of sources you decided you need.
NOW, click “Search.”